The year is here.

Christmas was fantastic. I loved being home for the first time in quite a while. The combination of great company, great food and great wine was a beautiful tonic for what can be a bleak time of year. The shop was only open for half a day between christmas and new years which allowed for a couple of hours on the bike in daylight. What a nice thing that is! Being able to see the surroundings. Unless you were to live in staines or slough I guess.

 

 

I feel like we’ve been quite lucky with the weather lately. It’s certainly not warm or anything but it’s not been too wet and I am bloody thankful for this! I’ve only had one full on soaking in the 2 months I’ve been back and I can cope with that ratio. The less rain the less time I will be sat on the turbo trainer and that can only be a positive. Oh yeah, and while we’re talking about the weather what are some people riding around in shorts and a short sleeve jersey for?? Ri.dic.ul.ous. It makes me angry for some bizarre reason. haha.

Now 2012 is in full flow the whole riding the tour thing seems even more real and even more scary. I got laughed at the other day when telling a cycling friend how I’d started doing some training loops around some roundabouts near epsom. It’s a nice 3 or 4 mile circuit which is well lit and has wide roads. ‘What’s so funny?’ I said. ‘No, no, it’s nothing’, he said, ‘It’s just do you expect to ride up the Tourmalet and all the other mountains by riding around a few roundabouts after work?’. I guess it does sound funny when you put it like that. Thing is those will be some of the most important miles come July. They will be the reserve that will keep the legs turning when all power has gone.

The next month is going to be a case of just riding the bike the same as the last few months. Nothing too strenuous. Just miles with a few efforts to build up some more strength. I’m finding it fairly easy to head out for a 3-4 hour ride at the moment. In 5 weeks when my beautiful lady arrives this may not be the case haha. Can’t wait!!!

Right, time for a nice cuppa and some time with Murakami’s 1Q84.

If you’re looking for a pleasant way to pass an hour either on the bike, on the train, or in bed listen to The Boxer Rebellion (The Cold Still). I am.

Over.

 

